Find Your Voice!

Quote of the Week

When we read a story, we inhabit it.  The covers of the book are like a roof and four walls.  What is to happen next will take place within the four walls of the story.  And this is possible because the story’s voice makes everything its own.   John Berger

OpenBookThere are so many reasons to read aloud, but the best one is that it is simply fun to do.  As I think about all the stories, poems, and novels I have read aloud to my own children, to my students, and to my husband, I think about the giggles, gasps, and sometimes sobs.  Even now when I read a book I particularly like, I hear a voice in my head reading aloud, changing voices for different characters, getting lost in the music of words.  And, sometimes I read aloud to myself just because.  Find your voice and use it to read aloud to yourself, your students, your children, your grandchildren, other people’s children, adults…

tpt

Explore posts in the same categories: Read Aloud

Leave a Reply

